.

My View: Finding the Cost of Freedom on the 4th

Some of us don't really take the Fourth of July as seriously as we should.

It's become a family tradition.

Each year, we head to Old Navy and buy T-shirts symbolizing the Fourth of July.

Each year, there's a different color and a logo of the with the year listed on it.

Time is ticking away on this tradition, days away actually, and we have yet to get our T-shirts for this year. That would be a shame too since I have T-shirts like this dating back more than a decade.

So another is upon us and it doesn't really have the same old ring to it. Things just don't seem that patriotic.

I'm not sure why. Yet maybe I really do know why.

People take their freedom for granted.

It's evident in most of our communities these days. The Fourth represents a day off from work and a great chance to go shopping and grab all of those store bargains.

You don't see many flags hung up with pride outside of homes. There's no big push to honor our military.

Nope, the day is spent having a barbecue, lounging on the couch watching a baseball game or hitting the beach or the pool.

Does anyone really participate in a holiday parade? Fat chance when you can sleep in.

Yes, this is the Fourth of July circa 2012, a holiday with the significance it should have.

Long gone are the days of the American Revolution when George Washington was fighting for our freedom while the Continental Congress was rebelling against the King and England.

is no Continental Congress. The Board of Supervisors has canceled the next day's meeting because it won't have a quorum. The members are all celebrating summer vacations. Hey, that's the township's right as a free governing body.

You don't even see many municipalities conducting any Fourth of July events. Where's the memorial dedication? And, most important, how come are no longer a Fourth of July staple?

It's because towns have saved the "Ooohs" and "Aaaahs" for their own community celebrations throughout the summer.

Bah humbug!

The cost of our freedom was a high price that many people paid with their lives. That's the ultimate sacrifice.

And through the Civil War, the world wars, the Vietnam War and the War on Terrorism, we as a nation continue to be free.

Osama bin Laden may have caused us great pain, but he didn't take away our right to be free.

And maybe that's what the holiday is really about: the right for each and every one of us to celebrate our freedom the best way that we want. Heck, we've earned it.

So enjoy that shopping trip, a barbecue or some pool time. We're all free to live our lives how we want.

Happy Fourth of July!

Tony July 02, 2012 at 08:40 PM
Liberals are Losers = product of Fox news. Absolutely no facts to back anything up, and rants and raves about policital opinion, no facts. Fox news=least informed. Happy 4th everyone! Cost of freedom. Lost a lot of freedoms from 2000 to 2008. but still the best country.
Liberalism is a mental disorder July 02, 2012 at 09:03 PM
Tony... this is really laughable. You are the one who post links to support your "facts", and the links actually support the opposite of your facts. I demonstrated this on you post in another thread where you had a link about Romney "debt", and the article stated the debt was not Romneys debt. You are the product of a union household, probably had parents who were teachers or steel workers. You have crap for brains. Hey.. why didn't Obama reverse all those loses of freedom from 2000-2008? He could have. Could have gotten rid of TSA... could have closed Gitmo.... could have stopped all the new techniques used by FBI, CIA, etc. So comeon' crap for brains, explain why Obama leaves all this in place.... ? Can ya? Doubt it. Maybe have to watch some Ed Schultz or Rachel Maddow re-runs to parrot an answer. Happy 4th everyone!! Last 4th with Obama as president if you want to save this country from his ineptitude on the economy. More bad news today on manufacturing, but "Private sector is doing well....". Dufus has NO PLAN to fix economy. Has not figured one out... has not presented one.... has no idea how to create one. A complete idiot who only knows how to give speeches and raise money. Clueless Obama for the inept masses... like Tony....
Liberalism is a mental disorder July 02, 2012 at 09:06 PM
Oh ya... Obama's plan to fix the economy is to borrow a bunch of money and send it to the states to keep from laying off teachers. HAHAHA. Teacher and other public unemployment is like 2% of the unemployment problem. But he is fixated on this... because it is the only idea he has. How well did that idea work in 2009... you know, over 3 years ago, when he borrowed a BILLION dollars and sent it to the states to keep his union lackey supporters working? DIDN"T WORK AT ALL. But now, he says give the money to the states to hire teachers and firefighters, and that will get the economy rolling. What, Barry Obama? You mean the money we give them will "trickle down" to the rest of us non-union, non-public workers, as they spend it? What? Trickle down economics? If you support Obama, you're just an idiot.
Rich Piotrowski July 02, 2012 at 09:11 PM
Liberals are loser, While I 100% agree with you about how Obama could have done those things, do you honestly think Romney will be any better? I just read a great article on why Romney will be even worse which makes sense as every President in my adult life has been worse than the one before him. I see it no differently this year. That being said, I don't play the "lessor of two evils game" nor should anyone. That's why I'm voting for Gary Johnson and NOT throwing away my vote for the lesser evil..
Frightwingslayer July 03, 2012 at 01:16 PM
Dear Mr. Loser, Are you brain dead? Thanks to the Democrats, those like you with Mental Health issues can get county help..My thought is that you rush and call your local county and get help..I know the toughest thing will be having to wean you off Fox noise but we'll all pray that they are successful..Best of luck to you!
Tonto July 03, 2012 at 01:47 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7equ_xy5_kg
Tony July 03, 2012 at 02:07 PM
@tonto...and Romney's background and he said he would govern from his faith, where Joseph Smith resides on planet Kolob with Jesus and the gang. He will return to America and save us ALL. Happy 4th! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sBKX83TFBtA
Tony July 03, 2012 at 02:15 PM
@ Liberals are Losers...who is to say I support Obama. Do I agree with everything he has done. Heck no. But we are talking ROmney vs Obama. Romney is the biggest flip flopper and liberal I have seen. He passed socialized medicine in his state and said it should be done nationwide. He is suppose to be a republican. Now if you had voted for Paul or Johnson it would be difficult to present argument. But you sir, like Romney. the biggest joke to run for President in my life time. His campaign will be a legacy filled with comedy for decades to come. The flip flops are so unreal it is almost unbelievable. The man has actual flip flops with his face on them for sale. The best you extreme right got is romney. romney!!! romney!!! hahahahahahahahhahahahahhahaha. prepare for a major lost in november. also my parents arent teachers or cops. I am a small business owner. I can relate to the costs of running a business. Healthcare being one of them. Liberals are Losers...please for this 4th of July, don't watch unpatriotic Faux News. It has brain washed your thinking. Only an idiot, would force themselves into reading one side of things (Foxnews) You know....there was a time where people thought the Earth was flat. If you questioned that information, you were killed or tortured until believing it. The lesson is don't subject your education to just one side of a piece of paper without looking at the other side. You will become smarter and more educated knowing facts. (Earth is round)
Saddie Lansford July 03, 2012 at 03:19 PM
I must laugh everytime I hear an uninformed person blather, 'change the channel and stop watching FOX News'. I chuckle to myself as I even write this. I have never watched Fox News, but I'm pretty sure that if you received your information from other sources, such as Jim Marrs, author of The Trillion Dollar Conspiracy, and Rise of the Fourth Reich you are making plans to get out of this country quick if need be. If any of you liberals and Romney supporters had any idea as to what is really going on, you'd be pissing your pants as we speak. Most of you are living on 'normalcy bias' right now. The same mistake many Jews of WWII made, the same mistake that cost millions of them their lives. Thinking things can't get that bad, and that you can weather them? Can't happen again you say? Ha, it was only 70 years ago and ask any of you what the crimes were and none can remember. If you could, you would remember that everything occurring within the past 12 year HERE is EXACTLY what happened in Nazi Germany preceeding WWII, starting with a 'terrorist' attack on the parliment building that brough part of it down. Forget Fox News, forget CNN, research and learn you idiots, I can afford to leave the country in short order, can you? Thank Rich P. for your patience with them.
Saddie Lansford July 03, 2012 at 03:26 PM
Study your history Frightened, as you should be. Austria voted almost unanimously for Hitler and reaped great rewards for a while. Until the retarded citizens were rounded up and taken for 'education' to learn a 'trade'. Family members were told not to visit for six months to ensure the retarded citizen didn't become homesick. However, after the six months, the retarded had all simply become sick and died. All of them. Whomever is in control of any aspect of your health, mental or otherwise, decides when you've taken up enough time on this Earth. Period.
Rich Piotrowski July 03, 2012 at 03:44 PM
Saddie, yes indeed. One of the most absurd things people say is, "It can't happen here" Of course it can, it can happen anywhere, just as it happened there. The same people who say that will scoff at people who say other absurd things such as, "I never get sick" or (after seeing someone else lose their job), "They won't fire me, I'm irreplaceable". So yes folks, it ca happen here. However, saying that it can happen here doesn't mean it will, It's still not too late but we are 100% headed in that direction. One way to help stop it is to get your head out of sand and look at things for what they really are. The two major party (or as I like to think of them, the two mob families that share power) both have candidate that fully support the NDAA, that one bill alone is reason to reject both of them as completely unacceptable. If anyone votes for them knowing they support it, not only are they setting out to help prove that, "it can happen here" they are helping us get there.
Saddie Lansford July 03, 2012 at 05:04 PM
How many of you know that new recruits into any US military branch are now being asked, 'Would you have any trouble obeying a command from your commanding officer to fire upon American citizens?' Anyone answering 'yes' is dismissed. Those that indicate no troube at all move on in the process. How does that make you feel? Don't believe me, ask a new recruit. This despite the Act (with my age, the name of the Act escapes me) that prohibits US military from using force upon American citizens. But since we are moving to global law, American laws are being scratched out. Maybe you should stop watching WHATEVER channel you're watching and start paying attention, and living.
Tony July 03, 2012 at 05:24 PM
great points. Americans are sick of having the insurance companies in control of their health, mental or otherwise, they decide which treatment you will receive and by whom.
Dino Ciliberti (Editor) July 03, 2012 at 05:52 PM
Guys, all this debate is great! I appreciate it!!
Frightwingslayer July 03, 2012 at 05:59 PM
Saddie, That's just completely bonkers..If that were the case, it would be all over the news..My expectation is that it might come if Romney and his billionairre corporate friends take over cause they'll need the protection...They are trying to buy the country now, thanks to citizen's united. If they do, they'll need the solier's protection for sure..
Frightwingslayer July 03, 2012 at 06:00 PM
Saddie, You need to stop listening to Glenn beck and his pals..Elvis is dead and you are bonkers...
Andrew Wilt July 03, 2012 at 06:03 PM
David Stern - You are correct that we are able to vote. However, only a few of those in Congress and the White House are not "talons of the same bird of prey" as Pat Buchanan put it. (Ron Paul is one of the few.) Let's face it, at the end of the day the differences between the Democrats and Republicans are minimal. Administrations from both camps over the years have gotten this country to where it is today. If Democrats and Republicans are both against deficits, why do we have deficits? The fact is that our "leaders" are controlled by the big corporations through the use of more than 25000 lobbyists. Everybody knows it. Why has not a single banker or credit ratings principal even been indicted for the sub-prime mortgage fraud? Jon Corzine stole hundreds of millions of dollars from his clients, he's still on the loose. GlaxoSmithKline was just fined $3 billion dollars for fraud, but no individuals were indicted. And who will really pay the GlaxoSmithKline fine? We will - in higher prices! Will any of us get any of the $3 billion fine anyway? Hah! It will go to the defense contractors to continue making equipment for their senseless (but extremely profitable) wars. If you think that voting is relevant, you are sorely mistaken. And, even if it was, what about that change we were promised? Dream on.
tamarya July 03, 2012 at 06:21 PM
Yes rich the law requires automobile insurance because it protects them and allows other people to sue, a well known word today. As for the law not requiring homeowners and rental insurance unless you are paying a mortgage on your home, the bank requires it then. However the ones that don't have homeowners insurance definatly have their hands out for donations when their house burns to the ground. If they had homeowners to begin with they wouldn't be screwed when they have a fire.
tamarya July 03, 2012 at 06:23 PM
In otherwords pure stupidity to not insure your house and stupidity to not insure yourself. How many people want healthcare and cannot afford it or cannot get lower cost healthcare, that is usually the big problem, I have never seen people not want it till this healthcare act took place.
Tony July 03, 2012 at 06:37 PM
http://news.yahoo.com/blogs/ticket/rnc-chair-individual-mandate-isn-t-tax-gop-150824741.html RNC Chair says not a tax! awesome. This July 4th will be no tax from Obamacare...uhhhh wait...they say they will call it a tax anyway to win election....ohhhh ....i always KNEW those good ol' repubs had the best interest of the people and never ever told a lie, especially on fox news. Wait so if RNC Chair says not a tax, I knooooooowwwwww fox will be reporting on this...oh wait.....not fair and balanced. forgot.:)
Frightwingslayer July 03, 2012 at 08:33 PM
Whether it's a tax or not, it's fun watching these morons on Fox noise and idiots like Bachman and other Republicans calling it the largest tax increase in the universe..Seriously, one jerk on Fox used the word universe..Of course, it's all fiction..In the last fifty years of tax increases, the increase in Obamacare is 10th out of 15..In fact, Ronald Reagan's 1982 tax increase came in in 5th place for the largest tax increase in fifty years..And very little, if any, of the taxing component in the ACA will fall on the middle class.. Yet,now they are not sure if it is a tax..Geez, they are so pathetic.
Tony July 03, 2012 at 08:53 PM
Frightwingslayer...you can't come on here posting those types of facts! That will ruin Liberals are Losers' 4th of July 24hr Fox marathon. lol. Get ready for some ranting from L.a.L. If Fox came on and said that the Earth was flat, he would believe it. He likes Romney of 2012 not Romney of Jan 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008....1999....1998....and on and on. Only Romney of March 2012 to about present. That's the Romney he wants to vote for. Happy 4th everyone!
Tony July 03, 2012 at 08:55 PM
oh and my mistake. L.A.L didn't like ROmney of May 10th til May 15th because he was FOR Obamacare during that week, but changed his mind afterwards.
Tonto July 04, 2012 at 01:37 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MYrPWwJkhdc&feature=g-vrec
Saddie Lansford July 04, 2012 at 02:01 AM
I don't listen to Glenn Beck either, your insults don't hit home because your shot is off course. That comes from ignorance, and not understanding the issues at hand. I'm sorry that you choose to ignore facts. Clearly you avoid them, it makes it easier for those with a softer belly to sleep at night. Calling someone 'bonkers' is far easier to do than educating yourself on these serious issues, and please, don't attempt to pass yourself off as knowledgeable, there won't likely be many takers. As I stated before, turn off your television and start your research, and live a viable life. Make the sacrifice of the Lexus (and other toys) and take your kids out of daycare and raise them yourself. Return to family, where children care for their aging parents, not the system, and they do it out of love, not respect or duty. Return to true health, learn to grow some of your own food. Too much trouble? Then living is too much trouble for you...go to a funeral home and wait. In that case you are just a shell of a human that this new culture has generated anyway.
Saddie Lansford July 04, 2012 at 02:06 AM
Gerald Celente of Trends Research Institute, (www.trendsresearch.com) said the same thing during a recent interview. He is calling for a 2nd American revolution, and that no one go to vote, which will, he says, render the election 'invalid'. Not sure of the accuracy of that, but at least someone is stepping up with a plan. He predicted a revolution years ago, and has an accuracy record that is unbeatable. It may not happen this year, but if he predicted it, there is a good chance of a revolution in our future.
Saddie Lansford July 04, 2012 at 02:07 AM
Seems to me that you two watch more Fox News than the people you're accusing of using it as a source. LOL, funny.
Rosemary B July 04, 2012 at 03:39 AM
David, Their might not be people banging down our door but their are consequences to excersising ones free speech. I know many teachers who hide the fact that they are conservative or pro-life for fear of repercussions affecting their career. That just is not right, but it is the America that we live in today.
Tony July 05, 2012 at 01:24 PM
@ Saddie ....remember got hear both sides... I couldn't say for sure what Fox says or reports, unless I hear and see what it is they do.
Peter July 08, 2012 at 03:43 PM
if you want to be taken seriously, you have to drop the whole "Stop listening to Beck and Rush" thing. When liberals get frustrated they love to invoke those names to discredit whoever they're arguing against. stick to the facts and you won't seem like such a joke on here.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »